CeratopsiaCretaceousDinosaursHerbivorousJurassicTop 10

The longest and largest ceratopsians

The longest and largest ceratopsians Top 10

Triceratops is by far the best-known ceratopsians

Ceratopsia or Ceratopia (Greek: “horned faces”) is a group of herbivorous, beaked dinosaurs, which thrived in what are now North America, Europe, and Asia, during the Cretaceous Period, although ancestral forms lived earlier, in the Jurassic. The earliest known ceratopsian, Yinlong downsi, lived between 161.2 and 155.7 million years ago. The last ceratopsian species became extinct in the Cretaceous–Paleogene extinction event, 65.5 million years ago.

Ceratopsians ranged in size from 1 meter (3 ft) and 23 kilograms (50 lb) to over 9 meters (30 ft) and 5,400 kg (12,000 lb).

The longest and largest ceratopsians

  1. Eotriceratops xerinsularis: 8.5–9 m
  2. Triceratops horridus: 8–9 m
  3. Torosaurus latus: 8–9 m (26–30 ft)
  4. Triceratops prorsus: 7.9–9 m (26–30 ft)
  5. Titanoceratops ouranos: 6.8–9 m (22–30 ft)
  6. Ojoceratops fowleri: 8 m (26 ft)
  7. Coahuilaceratops magnacuerna: 8 m (26 ft)
  8. Pentaceratops sternbergii: 6–8 m (20–26 ft)
  9. Pachyrhinosaurus canadensis: 6–8 m (20–26 ft)
  10. Pachyrhinosaurus lakustai: 5–8 m (16–26 ft)
  11. Nedoceratops hatcheri: 7.6 m (25 ft)
  12. Sinoceratops zhuchengensis: 7 m (23 ft)
  13. Mojoceratops perifania: 7 m (23 ft)
  14. Utahceratops gettyi: 6–7 m (20–23 ft)
  15. Chasmosaurus belli: 4.8–7 m (16–23 ft)
  16. Vagaceratops irvinensis: 4.5–7 m (15–23 ft)
  17. Arrhinoceratops brachyops: 4.5–7 m (15–23 ft)
  18. Agujaceratops mariscalensis: 4.3–7 m (14–23 ft)
  19. Chasmosaurus russelli: 4.3–7 m (14–23 ft)
Tyrannosaurus, Triceratops and human size.
Tyrannosaurus, Triceratops and human size.

The longest and largest ceratopsians

AD 2020 update


NoDinosaurLength [m]Length [ft]
1Triceratops maximus9.2 m30.2 ft
2Ugrosaurus olsoni8.6 m28.2 ft
3Triceratops horridus8.5 m27.9 ft
4Eotriceratops xerinsularis8.4 m27.6 ft
5Triceratops prorsus8.4 m27.6 ft
6Triceratops albertensis8.3 m27.2 ft
7Torosaurus latus8.0 m26.2 ft
8Sinoceratops zhuchengensis7.8 m25.6 ft
9“Duranteceratops”7.4 m24.3 ft
10Triceratops sulcatus7.2 m23.6 ft
11Pachyrhinosaurus canadensis6.9 m22.6 ft
12Titanoceratops ouranos6.8 m22.3 ft
13Agathaumas sylvestris6.2 m20.3 ft
14Albertaceratops nesmoi6.2 m20.3 ft
15Utahceratops gettyi6.2 m20.3 ft
16Centrosaurus apertus6.1 m20.0 ft
17Styracosaurus ovatus6.1 m20.0 ft
18Achelousaurus horneri6.0 m19.7 ft
19Bravoceratops polyphemus6.0 m19.7 ft
20Nedoceratops hatcheri6.0 m19.7 ft
21Ojoceratops fowleri6.0 m19.7 ft
22Torosaurus utahensis6.0 m19.7 ft
23Chasmosaurus belli5.9 m19.4 ft
24Pentaceratops sternbergii5.8 m19.0 ft
25Triceratops flabellatus5.8 m19.0 ft
26Agujaceratops mariscalensis5.7 m18.7 ft
27Chasmosaurus russelli5.7 m18.7 ft
28Pachyrhinosaurus lakustai5.7 m18.7 ft
29Medusaceratops lokii5.6 m18.4 ft
30“Monoclonius” recurvicornis5.6 m18.4 ft
31Styracosaurus albertensis5.6 m18.4 ft
32Triceratops eurycephalus5.6 m18.4 ft
33Coronosaurus brinkmani5.5 m18.0 ft
34Triceratops serratus5.5 m18.0 ft
35Anchiceratops ornatus5.4 m17.7 ft
36“Monoclonius” lowei5.4 m17.7 ft
37Spiclypeus shipporum5.3 m17.4 ft
38Spinops sternbergorum5.3 m17.4 ft
39Mercuriceratops gemini5.2 m17.1 ft
40Pachyrhinosaurus perotorum5.2 m17.1 ft
41Chasmosaurus brevirostris5.1 m16.7 ft
42“Monoclonius” dawsoni5.1 m16.7 ft
43Agujaceratops mavericus5.0 m16.4 ft
44Coahuilaceratops magnacuerna5.0 m16.4 ft
45Monoclonius crassus5.0 m16.4 ft
46Monoclonius nasicornus5.0 m16.4 ft
47“Monoclonius” sphenocerus5.0 m16.4 ft
48Regaliceratops peterhewsi5.0 m16.4 ft
49Wendiceratops pinhornensis5.0 m16.4 ft



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button